

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE December 15, 2016

Contact: Ellen R. Weiss eweiss@biophysics.org

Biophysical Society Announces Winners of 2017 Committee for Inclusion and Diversity Travel Awards

Rockville, MD— The Biophysical Society has announced the winner of its Committee for Inclusion and Diversity (CID) Travel Awards to attend the Biophysical Society's 61st Annual Meeting at the Ernest N. Morial Convention Center in New Orleans, Louisiana, February 11-15, 2017. The awards are intended to encourage participation at the Biophysical Society Annual Meeting by students and postdoctoral fellows underrepresented in the biomedical sciences currently studying biophysics. Recipients will be honored at a reception on Saturday, February 11.

The 2017 recipients of the CID Travel Award are:

Joshua Francois, University of California, San Diego, UNDERSTANDING THE MECHANICS OF NEUTROPHIL MIGRATION IN THREE-DIMENSIONAL EXTRACELLULAR MATRICES.

George Cortina, University of Virginia, PREDICTING RESIDUES THAT INCREASE ANTIBIOTIC RESISTANCE OF CTX-M9 ENZYMES USING MOLECULAR SIMULATION AND STATISTICAL LEARNING.

Juan Vanegas University of Vermont, BEYOND LATERAL PRESSURE PROFILES: LOCAL STRESS AND THE TRACTION VECTOR IN MD SIMULATIONS.

Matthew Ferguson, Boise State University, *IN VITRO* BINDING OF 6S RNA MANGO TO RNA POLYMERASE BY TWO PHOTON FLUORESCENCE CROSS CORRELATION SPECTROSCOPY.

Wade Zeno, University of Texas at Austin, INDUCED MIXING OF PHASE-SEPARATED LIPID BILAYERS BY STERIC PRESSURE BETWEEN ADSORBED PROTEINS.

Sebastian Hendrickx-Rodriguez, New Mexico Institute of Mining and Technology, EFFECTS OF OPSONIN DENSITY AND TYPE ON THE PHAGOCYTOSIS OF BEADS.

Manal Ahmidouch, Wake Forest University, MD SIMULATIONS AND CD SPECTROSCOPIES OF (BENZ)ACRIDINE: RDNA G-QUADRUPLEX COMPLEXES.

OFFICERS

President Suzanne Scarlata Worcester Polytechnic Institute

President-Elect Lukas Tamm University of Virginia

Past-President Edward Egelman University of Virginia

Secretary Frances Separovic University of Melbourne

Treasurer Paul Axelsen University of Pennsylvania

Executive Officer Rosalba Kampman Biophysical Society, Rockville

COUNCIL

Olga Boudker Jane Clarke Bertrand Garcia-Moreno Ruth Heidelberger Kalina Hristova Robert Nakamoto Arthur Palmer Gabriela Popescu Joseph D. Puglisi Michael Pusch Erin Sheets Joanna Swain

BIOPHYSICAL JOURNAL

Editor-in-Chief Leslie Loew

COMMITTEE CHAIRS

Awards Betsy Komives Early Careers Bert Tanner Education Gina MacDonald Finance Paul Axelsen Inclusion and Diversity Marina Ramirez-Alvarado **International Relations** Daumantas Matulis **Member Services** Frances Separovic Membership Juliette Lecomte Nominating Erin Sheets **Professional Opportunities** for Women (CPOW) Gabriela Popescu **Public Affairs** Edward Egelman Publications Olaf Anderson **Thematic Meetings Richard Aldrich**

O'Jay Stewart, CUNY - John Jay College, BIOPHYSICAL STUDIES OF LIPOSOME ENCAPSULATED POKEWEED ANTIVIRAL PROTEIN AND ITS USE AS A HIV THERAPEUTIC.

Dania Figueroa, Wellesley College, DEVELOPMENT OF CELL-WALL DEFICIENT BACTERIA FOR THE CHARACTERIZATION OF HISTONE-DERIVED ANTIMICROBIAL PEPTIDES THROUGH CONFOCAL MICROSCOPY.

Nancy Wells, Case Western Reserve, STRUCTURAL INSIGHTS TO THE 3' UTR OF GAIT ELEMENTS.

Jessica Thomas, University of Iowa, UNMASKING THE MOLECULAR DETERMINANTS IMPORTANT FOR CA²⁺-DEPENDENT REGULATION OF CA_V2.2.

Brittany Williams, University of Iowa, C-TERMINAL SPLICE VARIATION REVEALS NEW INSIGHTS INTO CALMODULIN REGULATION OF CAV1.4 CHANNELS.

The Biophysical Society, founded in 1958, is a professional, scientific Society established to encourage development and dissemination of knowledge in biophysics. The Society promotes growth in this expanding field through its annual meeting, monthly journal, and committee and outreach activities. Its 9000 members are located throughout the U.S. and the world, where they teach and conduct research in colleges, universities, laboratories, government agencies, and industry. For more information on these awards, the Society, or the 2017 Annual Meeting, visit <u>www.biophysics.org</u>.

